Graduate Students

Alec Redmann

Chief Engineer
Co-Chair of the 18th International Polymer Colloquium

aredmann2@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of North Dakota

Research Interests
Continuous fiber-reinforced composites
Additive Manufacturing

Johannes Austermann

austermann@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests


Abrahan Bechara

bechara@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, National University of Colombia

Research Interests
Fiber breakage simulation
Glass fiber behavior and polymer flow

Tzu-Chuan "Tina" Chang

tchang68@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Materials & Mineral Resources Engineering, National Tapei University of Technology

Research Interests


Vera Dahmen

vdahmen@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests


Lukas Duddleston

ME418 Teaching Assistant - Fall 2017

lduddleston@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S., Chemistry, Edgewood College
B.S., Biology, Edgewood College

Research Interests
Thermal & spectrochemical analysis of thermoplastic & thermoset polymers.

Bastian Heinen

bmheinen@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Business Administration & Mechanical Engineering, RWTH-Aachen University, Germany

Research Interests
Micropelletization, Rubber & Plastics Recycling

Rogelio Herrera

rherrera@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.A., Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests
Designing, analysing, and developing a prototype that produces continuous carbon fiber tow that is impregnated with a thermoplastic matrix. This continuous carbon fiber tow is for the development of filament used for Fused Filament Fabrication, FFF, (aka 3D printers).

Carl Hirsch

cahirsch2@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests
Composite Materials for Fused Filament Fabrication (FFF)
Economic Advantages of Fiber Reinforced Filaments for FFF

Jamie Klett

jaklett@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Materials Science & Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests
Polymer Micropelletization

Cure Kinetics & Viscosity Development of Thermoset Composites

Gerardo Mazzei

Laboratory Manager - ME1001

mazzeicapote@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Materials Engineering, Simón Bolívar University

Research Interests
FFF Optimization

Tom Mulholland

tmulholland@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests
TBD

Sean Petzold

spetzold@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests
Selective Laser Sintering (SLS) Tribology

José Luis Colón Quintana

Laboratory Manager - ME1042

colonquintan@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez

Research Interests
Fiber Matrix Separation

Sara Andrea Simon

Visiting Scholar Coordinator
Undergraduate Research Assistant Coordinator
ME313 Teaching Assistant - Spring 2018

ssimon9@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
M.S., Natural Sciences, Austrian Biotech University of Applied Sciences

B.S., Natural Sciences, Austrian Biotech University of Applied Sciences

Research Interests
Fiber Reinforced Thermoplastics, Bioplastics

Ian Walter

Co-Chair of the 18th International Polymer Colloquium
ME313 Teaching Assistant - Spring 2018

iwalter@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education
B.S., Applied Math, Engineering and Physics, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research Interests
Simulation of Fiber Reinforced Polymers



Visiting Scholars

Rocco Di Vincenzo

ettl@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests

Christopher Ettl

rdivincenzo@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests

Clement Fayolle

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests

Constanze Grützmacher

grutzmacher@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests

Julian Popp

popp3@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests

Robert Setter

rsetter@wisc.edu

Advisor
Professor Osswald

Education


Research Interests